The Biodiversity Working Group works to encourage the delivery of the The Highland Biodiversity Action Plan 2015 - 2020, which is available to download from the Highland Environment Forum's Biodiversity website.

Working group chair :

Past Conferences

2019 - The Salmon of wisdom runs deep' ~ Rewilding Highland rivers. 

Presentations summary

Pdfs of presentations

  1. Eels can show us the way - the need for complexity in river management : Chris Daphne
    Ness and Beauly Fisheries Trust
  2. Why wild rivers matter -  The AMBER project in Glengarry : Lucio Marcello, UHI, Rivers and Lochs Institute
  3. Lurking in the Depths  - River and loch life revealed by DNA : Mark Coulson, UHI, Rivers and Lochs Institute
  4. Improving riparian habitats along the Spey catchment : Penny Lawson, Spey Catchment Initiative
  5. The journey and role of organic matter in river systems : Peter Gilbert, Paul Gaffney  - UHI Environmental Research Institute
  6. Getting involved in rivers - the Scottish Invasive Species Initiative : Vicky Hilton - Scottish Invasive Species Initiative


2018 - On the trail of the Lonesome Pine

Presentation summaries

Pdfs of presentations

  1. The work of the Scottish School of Forestry
  2. Caithness Biodiversity Group
  3. Lochaber Biodiversity Group
  4. Funding options for native woodland expansion




Biodiversity Conference 2017 - Polinators, deer, woodlands, volunteering

Highland Wildlife Fair 2016

Biodiversity Conference 2015 - Volunteering - Read the conference report

Updates on progress on the actions identified in the Highland Biodiversity Action Plan can be seen below:


The Invasive Non-native Species Forum holds an annual meeting under the biodiversity working group remit.


Other biodiversity websites

site map | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement